ExpressJS send method

res.send()

·

1 min read

while I was learning NodeJS I saw this piece of code.

import express from 'express';
const app = express();
//routes
app.get('/', (req, res) => {
    res.send('<h1>Hello World</h1>');
});
app.listen(3000, () => {
    console.log('App is running on port 3000');
});

Now I thought what type of data can we send using the res.send().

With that in mind I started to explore the "res" object, then I came to know that we can send 'HTML', 'normal text', 'JSON', 'arrays', 'boolean values' etc... with the help of res.send() method.

app.get('/', (req, res) =>{
    res.send('<h1>Hello World</h1>') 
    //we can send the response in the below formats
    // use only of these ways in a function
    res.send('Hello World') //-> string
    res.send({message: 'Hello World'}) //-> object, will be converted to JSON
    res.send([1, 2, 3, 4, 5]) //-> array
    res.send(true) //-> boolean
    res.send(null) //-> null 
})

As you can see above, we always miss a lot of small details because in most Youtube tutorials we are taught about only one approach. If you go a little deep into the coding hole, then you unlock a lot of new approaches and solutions.

Thank you and I will let you read my mind again with a different topic. Until then keep exploring and keep learning.